Sharon Taylor | K-ON S1 | 480p | DVDRip | Dual Audio | Beyblade Metal Fusion

Sisters of the Cross (Russian Library)

Sisters of the Cross (Russian Library)

English | December 19, 2017 | ISBN: 0231185421, 023118543X | EPUB | 192 Pages | 2 MB

Thirty-year-old Piotr Alekseevich Marakulin lives a contented, if humdrum life as a financial clerk in a Petersburg trading company. He is jolted out of his daily routine when, quite unexpectedly, he is accused of embezzlement and loses his job. This change of status brings him into contact with a number of women-the titular "sisters of the cross"-whose sufferings will lead him to question the ultimate meaning of the universe.

The first English translation of this remarkable 1910 novel by Alexei Remizov, an influential member of the Russian Symbolist movement, Sisters of the Cross is a masterpiece of early modernist fiction. In the tradition of Gogol's Petersburg Tales and Dostoevsky's Crime and Punishment, it deploys densely packed psychological prose and fluctuating narrative perspective to tell the story of a "poor clerk" who rebels against the suffering and humiliation afflicting both his own life and the lives of the remarkable women whom he encounters in the tenement building where he lives in Petersburg. The novel reaches its haunting climax at the beginning of the Whitsuntide festival, when Marakulin thinks he glimpses the coming of salvation both for himself and for the "fallen" actress Verochka, the unacknowledged love of his life, in one of the most powerfully drawn scenes in Symbolist literature. Remizov is best known as a writer of short stories and fairy tales, but this early novel, masterfully translated by Roger Keys and Brian Murphy, is perhaps his most significant work of sustained artistic prose.

Download:

http://longfiles.com/n3bput4smp1x/Sisters_of_the_Cross_(Russian_Library).epub.html

[Fast Download] Sisters of the Cross (Russian Library)


Ebooks related to "Sisters of the Cross (Russian Library)" :
This Book Is Not for You
The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy Omnibus: A Trilogy in Five Parts
Dark Water - Simon Thould
From the Black - Michael Chatfield
She Rides Shotgun - Jordan Harper
Origami Unicorn (COLOR DELUXE EDITION)
Percy Jackson 3: The Titan's Curse
Larry Bond's Red Dragon Rising: Shock of War (Audiobook)
The Onion Field by Joseph Wambaugh (Audiobook)
Aaron Dembski-Bowden - Void Stalker (Night Lords, Book 3)
Copyright Disclaimer:
This site does not store any files on its server. We only index and link to content provided by other sites. Please contact the content providers to delete copyright contents if any and email us, we'll remove relevant links or contents immediately.